• Welcome to SquidBoards, the largest forum dedicated to Splatoon! Over 25,000 Splatoon fans from around the world have come to discuss this fantastic game with over 250,000 posts!

Start on your journey in the Splatoon community!

Splatoon 2 Good Weapons for Me to Try?

AoriCallie

Inkling
Switch Friend Code
SW-1891-3013-5627
So, this thread might be a bit strange, but I have a question. Right now my favorite weapon is the Gold Dynamo Roller, and while I'd like to think I'm pretty okay with it, I know it's currently not the most viable weapon in the meta. So I'd like some recommendations from those who know the meta better than I do, as I'm very new to competitive.

I like an approach that somewhat mixes being aggressive and hanging back, meaning long range is a must for me. I also like to cover a lot of ground for my team to keep the map under control so that we can always push back and escape if something is going wrong. I don't have the best aim right now; I'm still learning that. Stingray and chargers are very difficult for me to use.

Sorry if this is the wrong forum for this, or if this is somewhat weird; I didn't really know where else to put this and really wanted to know if anyone had any advice ^^;; I'm not an S rank in any mode yet, because I'm still learning, and I'd like to broaden my horizons and learn a weapon that's likely more viable than the gold dynamo is (though I will probably keep using it casually. I think it's fun).

Thank you to anyone who answers!

saint_kthulhu

Full Squid
That’s tough because the meta is short-medium range. I think the Forge SS Pro is probably the longest range “meta” weapon. But that might be more aim based than you’re interested in.

Possibly the Heavy Splatling Deco with the Bubble Blower instead of the Stingray? I am not sure where the Heavy falls in the meta but I thought it got decent representation at the G5. And it does a great job at ink coverage.

NNID
Boss2005
Switch Friend Code
SW-0444-5336-1909