• Welcome to SquidBoards, the largest forum dedicated to Splatoon! Over 25,000 Splatoon fans from around the world have come to discuss this fantastic game with over 250,000 posts!

Start on your journey in the Splatoon community!

hello! o/

kittypuppet

Inkling
NNID
kittypuppet
Hey there!

I'm pretty new to the whole gaming thing here - usually I'm sitting back watching my BF play whatever game he feels like playing(or watching gamers on twitch/youtube), but I liked Splatoon so much I decided to pick up the console and give it a go myself. I suck at the game quite a bit, but eh, pretty typical for a newbie (I'd assume).

Anyways - hello hello and feel free to offer any tips on playing (controls especially.. not used to the way these controls are eugh).

PrinceOfKoopas

Inkling Commander
NNID
PrinceOfKoopas
Play the single-player mode to get a hang for the controls. Have the motion controls on.

Very good for you for buying a Wii U apparently just for Splatoon. That's awesome!

kittypuppet

Inkling
NNID
kittypuppet
Hahahahah yeah, we bought the wiiu/splatoon combo pack

I've started out in motion controls, though I heard that if I turn the sensitivity up way high it'll be easier later on or something like that. I've also probably gone through the first couple levels in single player a few dozen times already to get the hang of things (sort of). BF says I'm not doing too horribly in turf wars, so I guess that's a good thing xD

PrinceOfKoopas

Inkling Commander
NNID
PrinceOfKoopas
Hahahahah yeah, we bought the wiiu/splatoon combo pack

I've started out in motion controls, though I heard that if I turn the sensitivity up way high it'll be easier later on or something like that. I've also probably gone through the first couple levels in single player a few dozen times already to get the hang of things (sort of). BF says I'm not doing too horribly in turf wars, so I guess that's a good thing xD
A few dozen times?! Woah, that's... a lot.