• Welcome to SquidBoards, the largest forum dedicated to Splatoon! Over 25,000 Splatoon fans from around the world have come to discuss this fantastic game with over 250,000 posts!

Start on your journey in the Splatoon community!

Motion Controls vs Analog Controls

Neon the squid

Inkster Jr.
I highly prefer motion controls whenever I use shooters. I am so much better at shooters with motion controls. But with snipers motion is a NO. My hands get shaky when I aim and I mess up.
Comment down which do you prefer.

Mr. 9

Semi-Pro Squid
NNID
interesting_deal
Well I’m fairly certain that the whole motion vs analog controls thing has been posted on several threads. However, I’m not a moderator, so here are some thoughts.

First off, I started playing this game when my younger brother insisted, so we could play together online (we’re in different cities). He told me before-hand to use analog controls, so I thought, OK. My brother never plays this game anymore, but I play it all the time! Please listen, DO NOT play this game with analog controls. I still do for now, but it really isn’t the way to go. I have a good rank, and let me tell you, it’s clear to me that the people I’m playing with are not using analog controls… I’m sure. Again, I’m sure….

If you have any problems with motion controls (so do I sometimes), I’m going to post some advice that an elder squid @Dessgeega so kindly gave me. I hope that these solid tips help:

- First off, put sensitivity to 0 if you haven't. You can futz with it later, but when you're learning the default is probably best.
- Hold the gamepad horizontally, in your lap. Yes, this means hitting Y to re-orient the camera every single time you boot the game, but people tend to find this more comfortable it seems.