• Welcome to SquidBoards, the largest forum dedicated to Splatoon! Over 25,000 Splatoon fans from around the world have come to discuss this fantastic game with over 250,000 posts!

Start on your journey in the Splatoon community!

Motion Controls vs. Stick Controls?

Volpey

Inkling
NNID
Volpey
hey guys. i started playing Splatoon 2 right when it launched and i love it so far.
i never played a lot of Splatoon 1 when it came out 2 years ago, but i have been enjoying the past few days so far.

so now to my actualy question.
i have been playing with friends mostly, and they all have been using motion controls. also when i watch people who play competitively, they all use motion controls. and whenever i say i use stick controls, everyone is saying i should switch to motion controls.

but why? i have only been playing turf war so far, maybe it's different for ranked and league, but when i play, i mostly get 1st or 2nd on my team, with mostly around 7 - 10 kills and a big gap when it comes to points.

i tried motion controls earlier for a little bit. first i tested it on the practice ground to find the best sensitivity for me, and then i played a little bit online. i sucked. i almost got no kills, and it just feels like i don't know what i'm doing. when i see an enemy, i panic and my accuracy sucks overall.

i know most of you will say "just get used to it, it takes some time". but overall i just don't like it. i am not a big fan of turning my controller left and right to aim. i know you can still use the stick, but that would kinda kill the purpose.

so what do you guys say? do i HAVE to use motion controls? i would like to get goot at Splatoon 2, maybe play competitively at some point. are there any competitive players that use stick controls?

thanks in advance.

the

Inkling Commander