• Welcome to SquidBoards, the largest forum dedicated to Splatoon! Over 25,000 Splatoon fans from around the world have come to discuss this fantastic game with over 250,000 posts!

Start on your journey in the Splatoon community!

"The Switch is not USB-C compliant, and overdraws some USB-PD power supplies by 300%" (x-post)

Amarae

Splatoon subreddit & discord Mod
Community Ambassador
NNID
Amiithystine
Switch Friend Code
SW-5344-8655-6309
  • This is not my post and I take no credit for providing any of the information herein, this is just to spread the awareness of the the issue to those who might not know. I didn't see it here so I thought to spread the word.

• The thread on r/NintendoSwitch.
Edit: People keep asking what they can use safely. I am not an expert, nor the Author, only a middle person for this information. Personally I am playing it safe until more information is known and using first party only for power. When it comes to power bricks I can do is offer this quote from the write ups: "Although long in tooth, the Innergie is one of the few chargers that will actually properly power the Nintendo Switch and Dock. It is a USB-PD "v1.0" supply -- meaning it was designed around the 5v/12v/20v levels. (12v was split to 9v/15v in "v2.0".) However, because it was USB-C compliant (followed the darn spec) and robustly engineered, it will work with the Switch even though it came out nearly two years before the Switch was released. (Hooray!) Innergie had the foresight to add 15v as an "optional and extra" voltage level and now it reaps the rewards. (It also has $3k $1mil in connected device insurance, so I can recommend it."

TL;DR The USB-C protocols in the Nintendo Switch do not "play nice" with third party products and could possibly be related to the bricking issues.