• Welcome to SquidBoards, the largest forum dedicated to Splatoon! Over 25,000 Splatoon fans from around the world have come to discuss this fantastic game with over 250,000 posts!

Start on your journey in the Splatoon community!

Splatoon 2 Undercover Brella in Tower Control

Erebus

Full Squid
NNID
Grace
Switch Friend Code
SW-3893-5350-1423
I'm a newbie here...hopefully this is the right place for this.

Am I the only one who thinks the undercover brella is hugely underrated in TC? It's not so good for the other modes (it's OK for splat zones), but everything about it is designed for holding a single piece of ground - the shield, the ink mines, splashdown. And in TC, unlike the other modes, if you can hold onto that one piece of ground - the tower - you are also winning the objective. With the shield, you can make splat bombs disappear, chargers can't touch you - you can literally stare down a charger and the most they can do is break the shield. Just ink up to get the shield back (assuming you had a mine laid down, you're still in your own ink, even after being shot), or you can use splashdown and you've got the shield back instantly. Of course, the shield isn't all that powerful, but while you're riding the tower, you have the shield plus that little post. With the post plus the shield, it's ridiculously hard for the other team to splat you. You can superjump right in and immediately have the shield up, or you can superjump in with splashdown and clear the whole area.

Anyone else? I'm just surprised I never see any other undercover brella's in TC. I haven't been playing too seriously, and I'm up to S+ 0 without even trying that hard. (I know, S+ isn't quite what it used to be, but still...)

AllToonedUp

Inkling Cadet