• Welcome to SquidBoards, the largest forum dedicated to Splatoon! Over 25,000 Splatoon fans from around the world have come to discuss this fantastic game with over 250,000 posts!

Start on your journey in the Splatoon community!

What did you learn from s1 that you don't see people do in s2?

SmokyWreck

A captain of the darkness.
General discussion about the game, what you noticed and how it affected your gameplay or your battles against other players!

The one I noticed the most is the lack of wall usage. While I agree that in splatoon2, the ammount of climbable walls are much more reduced and there's a larger focus on field like map.. It make them feel very huge and empty. It also mean that there's less emphasis on upward map design.

So as a splatoon1 player, I've learned to use walls to a point when I started playing splatoon2, it felt awkward. But I managed and I'm still glued to my walls tricks. However, I noticed that splatoon2 players that never played splatoon1 have a large disadvantage right there.. While splatoon1 player are more used to using walls, splatoon2 give a bigger emphasis on large open area so it's not every splat2 players who immediatly go "Yes, I can use that wall to my advantage." In fact, some basic wall baiting trick has worked on a few X ranked player I met in every modes. So I was wondering if you guys noticed small little things like that? Have you noticed what could encourage those kind of difference? What skill did you learn from splat1 that still work in splat2 but it seems like nobody know or use it?

Chilly_Blu

SRL Intern
Switch Friend Code
SW-0051-2661-0160
Something that I've always done is jumping when you're being shot at, that way its harder to get a direct hit. I don't know if it actually worked but a lot of people did it. I remember a lot of players in ranked doing that in splatoon 1, but in splatoon 2 I haven't seen it as much

xenogrease

Inkling