i simulated anarchy battle's ranking system

nineball

Semi-Pro Squid
Pronouns
he/him
So a few days ago I read an article linked in an earlier post about Splatoon 1's ranking system and its flaws, and while most of the math stuff went over my head, the article did link a python program that someone made that came to the same conclusion as the article, and that python program inspired me to make a simulation of the Splatoon 3 Anarchy ranking system.

Also bit of a disclaimer: I am not that much of a math and statistics kind of person, I am just a programmer that likes playing with numbers and I might might make a few mistakes here and there.

How Anarchy Ranking Works

For quick reference, and because the wiki has this information split up in two pages, I also will explain in this thread how Anarchy's ranking system works. I have wrapped the explanation in an expandable spoiler tag for those who do not care and just want to see the juicy data.

Sources: https://splatoonwiki.org/wiki/Rank, https://splatoonwiki.org/wiki/Anarchy_Battle
Rank

Anarchy has 11 total ranks, them being C-, C, C+, B-, B, B+, A-, A, A+, S, and S+. Each of the letters are split into groups (e.g C-, C, C+) with the exception of S and S+ which are each their own group themselves. I will be calling these groups "brackets" going forward.

Ranking Up

In order to go up a rank within your bracket, you must accumulate enough points depending on your current rank. There is no way to rank down.

RankBreakpoint
C-200
C400
C+600
B-350
B600
B+850
A-500
A800
A+1100
S1000
S+

When you reach the point threshold for the highest point in your bracket, you will have to participate in a rank-up challenge where you must win 3 times before you lose 3 times. Rank-up challenges do not cost more than a normal series, contrary to my own memory 🫠.

Series