• Welcome to SquidBoards, the largest forum dedicated to Splatoon! Over 25,000 Splatoon fans from around the world have come to discuss this fantastic game with over 250,000 posts!

Start on your journey in the Splatoon community!

Competitive Splatoon Ruling Proposal

Danny

Inkling
NNID
Simple
Hi. I think there have been many of these but I'm just here to toss my proposal into the ring. Also I don't post here often but I posted this here so I can get some feedback on the proposal since this is most likely what I will be using in my own tournaments. Most of the people I talked to this about have told me that the rules are fine so I would like to have more opinions. I take all constructive criticism very seriously.

First a little intro. I'm part of the Hypest team which dealt with online competitive tournaments for Smash related games so I have a lot of experience TOing online tournaments. However, Splatoon is not Smash. Splatoon is a Third Person Shooter and it needs to have different rules to accommodate this. I play some competitive first person shooters and I read a lot of rules on other competitive shooters. The number of competitive third person shooters is slightly low so I couldn't find many rules for TPSes. This rule was made with the effort

Second, I want to enumerate the issues I had with creating this ruleset. The first issue were the number of stages, currently set at 10 which is an even number. This was the biggest issue by far because it disallowed the naive and intuitive straight full-list-stage-strike system. After all, in this early meta we have to assume that all stages are perfectly fine. The problem with stage selection is also that the game will update with more maps down the line and will fluctuate the number of stages from even to odd periodically. A proper stage selection has to make up for this.