Does a low K/D ratio = Bad/ Being Carried?

ThestralZ

Inkling Cadet
Switch Friend Code
SW-1797-1352-6215
I was playing a game (2300 X Power Ttek) with Range Blaster and in two separate games I went 4/8, but in one our team won and the other we lost. Any insight as to why?

Masked_Katz

Gnarly Eddy's Boyfriend
Switch Friend Code
SW-3907-3792-4200
now, I am not an expert or as skilled as many others here, but one of the first things I learned from my coach was that K/D would become less reliable in gauging raw skill as I found my footing in the competitive scene. This varies between roles, but I was told that even as a slayer, a good habit is to focus on your teammates' K/D more than your own (to see how many deaths you may have prevented, for example.)

Shayreep

Pro Squid
Switch Friend Code
SW-1285-8726-3991
Nope, depends on weapon. If your 4/8 helped gain lead or took down key members of the enemy team, then its fine. I would compare the two games and 8 deaths and determine if they were "good" deaths or "bad" deaths (same with the kills, good kill or not)

☆Brody☆

Inkster Jr.
Pronouns
He/Him
Switch Friend Code
SW-4277-5054-4618
Nope, depends on weapon. If your 4/8 helped gain lead or took down key members of the enemy team, then its fine. I would compare the two games and 8 deaths and determine if they were "good" deaths or "bad" deaths (same with the kills, good kill or not)
Definitely, I remember early in the games lifespan when tetra players would consistently get get scores like 10/20.

Shayreep

Pro Squid
Switch Friend Code
SW-1285-8726-3991
Ramming your head at the objective and dying over and over until you win is a legit strategy sometimes lol

Redaly

Inkling
Pronouns
He/Him
Switch Friend Code
SW-2210-1664-7047
For most frontline weapons those would be pretty bad numbers but for support/backline weapons, as long as you do your job, i.e. paint for your team, giving 2v1s for frontlines, I'd say that you did fine.

Dessgeega

Egyptian Goo God