• Welcome to SquidBoards, the largest forum dedicated to Splatoon! Over 25,000 Splatoon fans from around the world have come to discuss this fantastic game with over 250,000 posts!

Start on your journey in the Splatoon community!

How to effectively communicate through voice chat?

Zoot

Inkling Commander
NNID
IveGotAMegaphone
I played a few rounds of Squad Battle with the Squids Next Door today, which was also my first opportunity playing Splatoon with voice chat (over Skype, obvs). I thought this would magically make our teamwork better, but I found I had no idea what to say!

Do any of you who have been playing online shooters for longer than me have advice on how to communicate effectively?

TheMH

Inkling Commander
NNID
The_MH
I have no experience from other shooters, but I think in Splatoon one key aspect is to define definite names for every location on the map, so you don't have to talk about locations too much. Like "mid right" for the square-shaped area between the slopes at the right and the center in Skatepark. As you can see with this example I already cut off 80-90% of words I have to say for this specific location.

Last edited:

Dano

Inkling
NNID
DanosauR
@TheMH Pretty much hit the nail on the head.

The only problem is, all the maps are symmetrical. So, coming up with names for areas can be a little tricky. But, yeah, coming up with names for areas is very important for communication. Watch any Counter Strike: Global Offensive game, and listen to how they communicate.

DeeWee UNub

Full Squid
NNID
HOPE_Glimmer
Like what the other two have already said,callouts are a must. However,if that's too tricky at the moment as it's going to take a while to learn callouts,just tell your teammates what's going on where you are. It's easy for your teammates to know where you are and they will know that the enemy is in the area.

RespawningJesus

I am a leaf on the wind - watch how I soar.
Premium
NNID
RespawningJesus