What do you use?

• Motion

Votes: 29 87.9%
  • Stick

Votes: 4 12.1%

• Total voters

Smash Arena

Inkster Jr.
I used sticks from the launch of Splatoon 1 until in 2020 I switched the motion for Splatoon 1 and 2. My win rate shot up after that and I actually got good at Splatoon, I couldn't believe how much I had been holding myself back for 5 years.

missingno

Inkling Fleet Admiral
Pronouns
he/him
NNID
missingno
Switch Friend Code
SW-6539-1393-3018
It's been well understood for a very long time that analog aiming is terrible for shooters. It's just something consoles were stuck with because they don't support mouse input, and in order to try and compensate most console shooters feature heavy aim assist.

The problem with analog aiming is that it's velocity-based. You only control the speed of your reticle, as you try to get it to its destination. Both speed and precision are rather poor, and no matter how you play with sensitivity you can only ever sacrifice one for the other.

Gyro finally brings a true positional input scheme to consoles. You move the controller a set distance, and the reticle moves a corresponding distance instantly. You can be both fast and precise this way, snapping to exactly where you want to go. It's the same principle as a mouse, albeit with more of a learning curve.

If you are still using sticks in current year, you are putting yourself at a disadvantage. Unlike other console shooters, Splatoon has no aim assist to help you compensate for sticks' weaknesses. So if you truly want to improve, learn gyro. I get that some of you might be used to sticks and maybe you don't want to venture out of your comfort zone, but ask yourself, do you actually care about improving?

OnePotWonder

Inkling Fleet Admiral
Pronouns
He/Him
Switch Friend Code
SW-2068-8904-6306