• Welcome to SquidBoards, the largest forum dedicated to Splatoon! Over 25,000 Splatoon fans from around the world have come to discuss this fantastic game with over 250,000 posts!

Start on your journey in the Splatoon community!

Splatoon Artists, how did you get good?

Rainmixer

Inkster Jr.
I've wanted to draw art for splatoon, and in general, and I was wondering how y'all do it. How'd you start, how good were you? How did you improve?

DzNutsKong

Inkling Cadet
I'm not a Splatoon artist, I mostly do pixel art for Pokemon, but in general there's a lot of professional-level books that you could buy for general art stuff. Take the steps to learning that an art book ask you to and don't be afraid to just start drawing. The only way you're going to get anywhere is by actually practicing, and the only way to practice art is by actually drawing. If you have any friends who are artists don't hesitate to ask them for feedback as well when you have a work in progress. An extra set of eyes can go a long way in finding problems.

mossyquartz

Senior Squid
Switch Friend Code
SW-6391-8464-6805
I've been drawing for about 10 years and only a few things have really helped me;

1. Practice. This is what everyone says but practice is what will help you improve

2. Look at artists you admire. Think about why you find their art appealing, what do they do differently from other? Think about the colors, anatomy, linework, etc

3. Look at YouTube tutorials. This has been the most helpful thing for me so far. YouTube has tons of tutorials for free. I definitely recommend looking into anatomy tutorials and color theory if you're wanting to draw characters. I first learned most of what I know through YouTubers! If you already know what style you'd like to draw in, try to find tutorials from artists with similar styles!

Hope this helps :) lmk if you have any more questions

Sunflower._.

Full Squid
Switch Friend Code
SW-6460-5764-2418