• Welcome to SquidBoards, the largest forum dedicated to Splatoon! Over 25,000 Splatoon fans from around the world have come to discuss this fantastic game with over 250,000 posts!

Start on your journey in the Splatoon community!

The Dual Squelcher IS OP

TCSmith0812

Full Squid
So I'm the dual squelcher main for Squids Next Door and have used the dual squelcher ever since I started playing competitively. Playing competitively, it's very common to see a 52 gal, 96 gal, e-liter, Dynamo, tentatek, and Luna blaster on any given team. All of those weapons are considered to be among the best weapons in the game, which makes sense as to why the meta has developed for them so much. What I don't see very often at all is the dual squelcher however, and it confuses me because it counters literally every single OP weapon with ease. Using one damage up main and one sub counters any amount of defense up, ensuring a four shot splat with it. Using around a main or five subs of defense turns the tentatek into a four shot kill, makes the 52 gal a three shot kill, and may increase your survivabilty against blasters if they don't hit you directly enough, and forces snipers to charge their shots more to splat you. Using damage up and defense up causes the dual squelcher to counter all of those weapons (the ones I listed at the beginning and more) with ease. There is one exception however, the 96 gal. If you look at the weapons stats however, the dual squelcher has very very slightly more range than it. It also has splat bombs which can take out walls with ease. When asking 96 mains what weapon they have a really hard time dealing with, I either hear Dynamo or dual squelcher. With this weapon countering all of the most used weapons, why is this not more popular?!

Leronne

Inkling Fleet Admiral
NNID
Leronne
Switch Friend Code
SW-2169-0003-5242