What happened to Saltspray Rig in Ranked?

Zombie Aladdin

Inkling Fleet Admiral
NNID
Overhazard
Saltspray Rig rarely ever comes up in Ranked anymore, and when it does it's always Splat Zones. Ever since I started playing, I have not caught it even once in Rainmaker or Tower Control. Is something wrong with Saltspray Rig that it's been exploited, or is it just coincidence?

redacteddd

Banned (6 points)
In Turf War, area control of the entire map is emphasized. Ranked modes are focused around control of a central objective. Unlike all the other maps, Saltspray Rig doesn't have rotational symmetry, in effect, meaning the map doesn't lead to a narrow center. As such, it's ranked configurations don't take advantage of the whole map, leading to a huge chunk of the map being left unused.

As @flc detailed in this thread, due to the way bullets function in Splatoon compared to other shooters, the left side of the map gains a cover advantage. Not a big one mind you, but enough that it could hurt.

Zombie Aladdin

Inkling Fleet Admiral
NNID
Overhazard
Oh, wow. I didn't know about the game's mechanics giving an advantage to whoever begins on the left. That must explain why there haven't been any maps besides Saltspray Rig that aren't rotationally symmetrical. I take it that, for a similar reason, Bluefin Depot Splat Zones is rare.

It doesn't really explain why Splat Zones is still present and comes up pretty often for Saltspray Rig though, which also leaves the entire northern area unused, and unlike Rainmaker or Tower Control, has no incentive whatsoever to ink that area.

Tent-attack

Inkster Jr.
NNID
C_r_4_g_u_s
This puts me in the mind of when Triggerfish was taken out of Turf and Zones rotations because of the jump exploit in the middle of the map. Maybe they're tweaking Saltspray in the gamemodes it isn't appearing in currently. I wouldn't be surprised if Saltspray got a complete makeover like Urchin did at some point down the line. Something to keep in mind at least.